Epsom Derby Festival Betting Sites

Epsom Derby Festival Betting SitesEpsom Derby Festival betting offers, free bets, enhanced odds and competitions. Derby and Oaks betting. Best Epsom Derby Festival betting sites. New Customer Offers, 18+, T&C’s Apply to each of the offers below, click “Bet Here” for more information.

Best Epsom Derby Festival Betting Sites List

Best Epsom Derby Festival Betting Sites Reviewed

Best Epsom Derby Festival Betting Sites Comparison

Derby Festival Betting

The Investec Derby Festival hosts two classic races including The Epsom Derby, Britain’s richest horse race, and the most prestigious of the five Classics. The Derby Festival is the second major flat racing festival of the season with over 100,000 racegoers visiting the festival each day, these are the key races:

Derby Festival Day 1: Saturday 4 July – Ladies Day featuring the Epsom Oaks, a 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 6 yards Group 1 fillies-only flat horse race.

Derby Festival Day 2: Saturday 4 July – Derby Day featuring the Epsom Derby, a 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 6 yards Group 1 flat horse race. The Derby is the UK’s richest horse race with a prize pool of £1.5 million.

Looking for Derby Festival Free Bets or a free flutter on the big races Epsom Derby Free Bets and Epsom Oaks Free Bets.

2020 Derby Festival

The Derby Festival is an unmistakably British event and a great start of the summer season. Every year on the first Friday of June, crowds gather on Epsom Downs Racecourse to celebrate racing at its best. The first day is known as Ladies Day and the second day, Derby Day.

Ladies Day sees the running of the Epsom Oaks, the third of the Classics races, as well as the second event in the Fillies’ Triple Crown. Like the 1,000 Guineas Stakes at Newmarket it is a contest for female three-year-olds only.

The Epsom Oaks race was established in 1779, one year before the Derby Stakes premiered. It takes its name from ‘The Oaks’ a home rented by the 12th Earl of Derby in the Epsom area. The race takes place over a distance of one mile, four furlongs and ten yards.

It is on the Saturday that the key race, The Derby (also known as the Derby Stakes) is run. The Derby, Britain’s richest horse race, is an English flat horse race open to three year old thoroughbred colts and fillies. The race takes place at Epsom Downs Racecourse in Surrey over a distance of one mile, four furlongs and 10 yards.

The Derby is one of the five Classic English flat races running during the racing season, and some would say the most prestigious. The name Derby has now become synonymous with great horse races worldwide, such as the Kentucky Derby, but the Epsom Derby is the original and one of Britain’s great national sporting events.

The Derby originated at a celebration following the first running of the Oaks Stakes in 1779. A new race was planned, and it was decided that it should be named after either the host of the party, the 12th Earl of Derby, or one of his guests, Sir Charles Bunbury. According to legend the decision was made by the toss of a coin, but it is probable that Bunbury, the Steward of the Jockey Club, deferred to his host.

The Derby has been run at Epsom every year except during the world wars. From 1915 to 1918 and from 1940 to 1945 the Derby was run at Newmarket. These races are known as the ‘New Derby’.

Famous Derby winners have included Shergar, arguably the most famous horse in British and Irish racing history besides Red Rum. Its 10-length demolition with Walter Swinburn in the saddle in 1981 is still the largest ever winning margin in the race. Two years later masked gunmen notoriously kidnapped Shergar from its yard in Ireland and it was never seen again

The Derby is the second race in the highly prestigious Triple Crown series. The last horse to win the Triple Crown, winning the 2,000 Guineas, The Derby and the St Ledger was Nijinsky in 1970. Lester Piggott rode the notoriously difficult colt which produced a blistering turn of foot to win in a then record 2m 34.88s.

Workforce, ridden by Ryan Moore, blasted away the field with a seven-length win in 2010. Only five Derby winners have ever won by seven or more lengths. And Workforce’s winning time of 2m31.33s remains the faster ever.

The 2020 Derby Festival Horse Race meeting will be held over 2 days between between Saturday, 4 July and Saturday, 4 July 2020.

Best Epsom Derby Festival Betting Sites Conclusion

Best Epsom Derby Festival Betting Sites FAQs