Melbourne Cup Betting Sites

Melbourne Cup Betting SitesMelbourne Cup betting offers, free bets, enhanced odds and competitions. Bet on Melbourne Cup online. Best Melbourne Cup betting sites. New Customer Offers, 18+, T&C’s Apply to each of the offers below, click “Bet Now” for more information.

Best Melbourne Cup Betting Sites List

Best Melbourne Cup Betting Sites Reviewed

Best Melbourne Cup Betting Sites Comparison

Melbourne Cup Betting

Bet on Melbourne Cup online

2024 Melbourne Cup Odds*, Melbourne Cup 2024 Betting*, 2024 Melbourne Cup Favourite*

Looking for Melbourne Cup Free Bets.

2024 Melbourne Cup

Known as ‘The Race That Stops A Nation’ the Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most prestigious annual thoroughbred horse race. It takes place on the Flemington Racecourse by the Victoria Racing Club and is part of the Melbourne spring carnival.

However, in March 1840 the first race meeting was held on the rough river flats beside the Maribyrnong River when the town of Melbourne was barely five years old and Archer was the first winner in front of a crowd of around 4000 people.

At the time, Victoria was experiencing the gold rush and many people had flocked to Melbourne in the hope of finding gold.

As a result, Melbourne’s great wealth and growth from the gold rush era of the 1850s to the land boom of the 1880s made the city one of the most dynamic in Australia.

And in parallel, the Melbourne Cup rose to fame as a social and fashion event as well as the national sporting highlight of the year. By 1880, 100,000 people came to Flemington to attend the Cup.

Melbourne Cup Day – always held on the first Tuesday in November – has been a public holiday for the city since 1875, and is still celebrated as a special day around the country.

The Victoria Racing Club has constantly improved standards of comfort and accommodation at Flemington, with $26.2 million spent on improvements in the years 2000-2004, in addition to the $45 million grandstand completed in 2000.

The Melbourne Cup is run over 3,200 metres (just under 2 miles) and is for three year olds and over. It is one of the richest turf races and the richest “2 mile” handicap in the world.

The fastest winning time, unbeaten since 1990, is 3:16.3 by Kingston Rule; Bart Cummings has the title of trainer with the most wins (12 times in all; 1965, 1966, 1967, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2008); Makybe Diva became the first horse to win the Melbourne Cup three times (2003,2004 & 2005) and is the highest stakes earner in Australasian horse racing history; and Bobby Lewis and Harry White share the title for Jockey with the most wins with four titles each.

The 2024 Melbourne Cup horse race will be held on Tuesday, 3 November 2020.

Previous Melbourne Cup Winners

Year Horse Jockey – Trainer
2020 ? ? – ?
2019 Vow And Declare Craig Williams – Danny O’Brien
2018 Cross Counter Kerrin McEvoy – Charlie Appleby
2017 Rekindling Corey Brown – Joseph O’Brien
2016 Almandin Kerrin McEvoy – Robert Hickmott
2015 Prince of Penzance Michelle Payne – Darren Weir
2014 Protectionist Ryan Moore – Andreas Wöhler
2013 Fiorente Damien Oliver – Gai Waterhouse
2012 Green Moon Brett Prebble – Robert Hickmott
2011 Dunaden Christophe Lemaire – Mikel Delzangles
2010 Americain Gérald Mossé – Alain de Royer-Dupre
2009 Shocking Corey Brown – Mark Kavanagh
2008 Viewed Blake Shinn – Bart Cummings
2007 Efficient Michael Rodd – Graeme Rogerson

Best Melbourne Cup Betting Sites Conclusion

Best Melbourne Cup Betting Sites FAQs