Horse Racing Betting

Explanation of the most popular horse racing betting markets. New Customer Offers, 18+, T&C’s Apply to each of the offers below, click “Bet Here” for more information.

A Excellent 2019


Get Up To £100 In Free Bets


Best Odds Guaranteed On UK & Ire Races
Best Odds On Premiere League

Payment Methods

Mobile App

Bonus Key Qualifying Criteria: Use promo code ZBBC01. New online customers only, 18+. Place 5 x £10 or more bets to receive £20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange bets excluded. T&Cs apply. There are no wagering requirements for any winnings. Winnings can be withdrawn as cash.

A Excellent 2019


Get Up To £100 In Bet Credits


The World’s Favourite Betting Site
Unrivalled In-Play Service

Payment Methods

Mobile App

Bonus Key Qualifying Criteria:New Customers only. Up to £100* in Bet Credits. Sign up, deposit £5* or more to your account and bet365 will match your qualifying deposit in Bet Credits when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. 18+ There are no wagering requirements for any winnings. Winnings can be withdrawn as cash.

Horse Racing Betting Markets

Horse Racing is a huge global betting phenomenon with major horse race meetings almost every week of the year with live horse racing from the UK, Ireland, America, Australia & New Zealand plus more from all around the world. Most major horse racing betting sites offer many betting markets on a single race. But what do all these betting markets mean? Here’s a simple explanation of the most popular horse racing betting markets:

Win / Fixed Odds / Single – This is the simplest and most common horse racing bet. You are backing the winner of the race. All of you bet is placed on the winner.

Each Way – This is a popular bet at horse race meetings whereby if you’re not entirely sure you choice will win outright you get a payout if the horse is placed. Your bet is placed in two parts, one towards the win and the second part to the place.

So for example if you place a £10 each way bet at 10/1 (11) the actual bet is £20, £10 for the win at 10/1 and £10 for the place at ¼ of the odds. If the horse wins you would get £100 for the win return plus £25 for the place return plus your initial stake so total return would be £145.

The number of places paid depends on the number of runners in a race.

Forecast / Straight Forecast / Exact Forecast – This bet is where you predict the exact order two horses will finish a race, 1st and 2nd. The returns are calculated by multiplying the 1st bet plus returns with the 2nd bet plus returns.

So for example if you place a £10 forecast on a horse A at 5/1 (6) coming first and a horse B coming second at 10/1 (11) your return would be £660 if the horses finished 1st and 2nd in that order.

Reverse Forecast / Combination Forecast – Same as a Forecast bet but you reverse the outcome so horse A and horse B can come 1st or 2nd in any order. Your bet is doubled so the out lay using the above example would cost you £20. £10 for A B and £10 for B A.

Tricast – Same as Forecast but with 3 horses predicting 1st, 2nd and 3rd. Obviously the return with this bet are huge.

Accumulator – Predicting which horse will win a selection of races. The selection can be at another race meeting and on another day. You can bet each way as well.

Best Odds Guaranteed

The best betting sites now offer “Best Odds Guaranteed” on Horse Racing in the UK and Ireland. What this means is that when you take a price on a race and the Starting Price (SP) is higher you will be paid out on the SP if your selection wins.

Ante Post / Future Races

Ante Post bets are offered by betting sites on most big races and is a bet on a horse before that races final declarations have been posted, usually 10am on the day before the race.

Best Odds Guaranteed is not offered on Ante Post bets.

Flat Racing / Thoroughbred

The flat racing season in the Northern Hemisphere UK/Ireland/France and America runs from April to mid November. Flat races are for fast lighter horses and are raced over as short as 5 furlongs and can go up to and just over 1 ½ miles; the courses are flat with no obstacles.

National Hunt Racing / Jump Racing

National Hunt or Jumps racing in the Northern Hemisphere UK/Ireland/France and America runs from mid October to April. Jump races are for bigger horses and are raced over jumps, hurdles and other obstacles from around 2 miles to over 4 miles.

Top Horse Racing Betting Events 2020

2020 Cheltenham Festival – Cheltenham Festival, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK, National Hunt (Jumps) : 10 March, 2020 to 13 March, 2020.

2020 Dubai World Cup – Dubai World Cup, Meydan Racecourse, Dubai, UAE, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 28 March, 2020.

2020 Grand National Festival – The Grand National Festival, Aintree, Liverpool, UK, National Hunt (Jumps) : 2 April, 2020 to 4 April, 2020.

2020 Guineas Festival – The Guineas Festival, Newmarket, Suffolk, UK, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : Saturday 2 May, 2020 to Sunday 3 May, 2020.

2020 Kentucky Derby – The Kentucky Derby, Kentucky, USA, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 2 May, 2020.

2020 Preakness Stakes – The Preakness Stakes, Maryland, USA, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 16 May, 2020.

2020 Belmont Stakes – The Belmont Stakes, New York, USA, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 6 June, 2020.

2020 Epsom Derby Festival – The Epsom Derby Festival, Epsom, Surrey, UK, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : Friday 5 June, 2020 to Saturday 6 June, 2020.

2020 Royal Ascot – Royal Ascot, Ascot, Berkshire, UK, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 16 June, 2020 to 20 June, 2020.

2020 Goodwood Festival – The Goodwood Festival (Glorious Goodwood), West Sussex, UK, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 28 July, 2020 to 1 August, 2020.

2020 Ebor Festival – The Ebor Festival, York Racecourse in York, UK, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : Wednesday 19 August, 2020 to Saturday 22 August, 2020.

2020 St Leger Festival – St Leger Festival, Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : 9 September, 2020 to 12 September, 2020.

2020 Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe – The Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, Paris, France, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : Sunday 4 October, 2020.

2020 Melbourne Cup – The Melbourne Cup, Melbourne, Australia, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : Tuesday 3 November, 2020.

2019 Japan Cup – The Japan Cup, Tokyo, Japan, Flat / Thoroughbred racing : Sunday 24 November, 2019.

The English Triple Crown – Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing

The English Triple Crown is the winner of the following races in one season:

  • The 2,000 Guineas Stakes, Newmarket
  • The Derby, Epsom
  • The St Leger Stakes, Doncaster

The last horse to win the English Triple Crown was Nijinsky ridden by Lester Piggott and trained by Vincent O’Brien back in 1970.

The US Triple Crown – Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing

The US Triple Crown is the winner of the following races in one season:

  • Kentucky Derby, Kentucky
  • Preakness Stakes, Maryland
  • Belmont Stakes, New York

The last horse to win the US Triple Crown was Justify ridden by Mike E Smith and trained by Bob Baffert in 2018.

Looking for the best horse racing betting sites then see our list of the best. All online betting sites offer horse race betting but who offers Best Odds Guaranteed, Cash Out, Live In-Play Betting, Live Horse Racing Streaming, Competitive Odds and much more.