English Triple Crown Betting

English Triple Crown betting offers, free bets, enhanced odds and competitions. New Customer Offers, [geot country=”US”]21+[/geot][geot exclude_country=”US”]18+[/geot], T&C’s Apply to each of the offers below, click “Bet Here” for more information.

The English Triple Crown Betting

Perhaps the ultimate accolade in English racing is to win the Triple Crown. This is a series of three races that take place annually; 2,000 Guineas, Epson Derby and St. Leger. Winning one of these is hard enough, winning all three nigh on impossible, but it has been done and the horses and jockeys that do achieve the English Triple Crown go down in the annals of racing history. There are now Triple Crown events all over the world, but the UK Triple Crown is the original and the one that started it all.

It originated in 1853 when a horse called West Australian became the first horse ever to win the noted three races in the same year. So, to recognise this achievement the horse was presented with the first ever Triple Crown trophy … and so the Triple Crown came to be.

The 2,000 Guineas is the ‘newest’ of the Triple Crown events having first been run in 1809; the original guaranteed prize fund was 2,000 Guineas, hence the name of the race. It is the first leg of the Triple Crown and also the first of the 5 Classics to be run each year. The race is exactly 1 mile long and takes place on Newmarket’s Rowley Mile in late April or early May.

The Epsom Derby is the second race in the Triple Crown series, it was first run in 1780, and takes place at Epsom Downs in early June each year; the event is run over 1 mile 4 furlongs & 10 yards.

Completing the trio is the St. Leger Stakes. The final leg of the Triple Crown takes place at Doncaster Racecourse in September. The event takes place over 1 mile 6 furlongs and 132 yards which makes it the longest of the 5 Classics. It is also oldest of the Classics, established in 1776 by Anthony St Leger, a politician and army officer who lived near the town of Doncaster.

Winning the Triple Crown is an extraordinary achievement, not only because of the quality of the horses competing but also because the races are spread out over the whole racing season. The 2,000 Guineas and Derby are at the start but the St. Leger is not until September, so competing horses need to maintain or regain form over a sustained period of time.

Only 12 recognised horses have ever won the Triple Crown; West Australian (1853). Gladiateur (1865), Lord Lyon (1866), Ormonde (1886), Common (1891), Isinglass (1893), Galtee More (1897), Flying Fox (1899), Diamond Jubilee (1900), Rock Sand (1903), Bahram (1935) and most recently Lester Piggott on Nijinsky (1970).