US Triple Crown Betting

US Triple Crown betting offers, free bets, enhanced odds and competitions. New Customer Offers, [geot country=”US”]21+[/geot][geot exclude_country=”US”]18+[/geot], T&C’s Apply to each of the offers below, click “Bet Here” for more information.

The US Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing Betting

The Kentucky Derby is the first race in the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, followed by the Preakness Stakes race and the Belmont Stakes race.

The first race of the series, the Kentucky Derby, is the longest running sporting event in the US. It is a top rank, Grade I stakes race for 3 year old Thoroughbred horses. It is held annually on the first Saturday of May at Churchill Downs, Louisville, Kentucky. The race distance is one and one-quarter miles long, and it is run on a dirt racetrack. The winning purse is $2 million.

Held on the third Saturday in May, two weeks after the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes is an American flat thoroughbred race run at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland, USA. It is a Grade I race run over 9.5 furlongs on dirt with a winning purse of $1.5 million.

The third and final race in the series, the Belmont Stakes, is also arguably the most demanding as it is by far the longest of the three Triple Crown races at 1.5 miles, and one of the longest for a first-class race in the United States on the dirt. This American Grade I stakes Thoroughbred horse race is held every June, three weeks after the Preakness Stakes, at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York, and has a winning purse of $1.5million.

The first winner of the Triple Crown was Sir Barton, in 1919, before the series was recognized as such and since then only 12 horses have ever won this rare sporting title, while only 34 have been eligible to try.

As the third and final race in the Triple Crown, much of its history is written in the defining moments of the Belmont Stakes. Highlights include Secretariat’s world record, Seattle Slew’s undefeated sweep of the series, and Affirmed’s survival of his rival’s last onslaught.

To celebrate Secretariat’s remarkable Triple Crown achievement in 1973, Belmont Park’s Secretariat Pole, which is 31 ½ lengths inside the finish line, commemorates the margin of victory and is painted in the colours of his stable—blue and white. The pole was put up in 2013, the 40th anniversary of Sec’s Triple Crown at the suggestion of Tom Durkin.

American Pharoah won the 2015 Belmont Stakes race, becoming the 12th horse in history to win the Triple Crown and ended a drought 37 years, that had seen the hopes of 13 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winners end in disappointment.

His time of 2:26.65 was the sixth fastest in Belmont Stakes history, and the second fastest time for a Triple Crown winner. Ridden by Victor Espinoza, American Pharoah led the field from start to finish and was all the more deserved as trainer Bob Baffert and jockey Espinoza had accumulated five failed Triple Crown bids between them!

The last winner of the US Triple Corwn was Justify ridden by Mike E Smith and trained by Bob Baffert.